Red Hot Chili Peppers Night 1 2/15/17

Last Wednesday, I finally got a chance to see Red Hot Chili Peppers. Since 2006 I have been wanting to see this band. They were playing three nights at Madison Square Garden. I attended the first night which was the 15th. The other two nights were the 17th & 18th. All three nights were sold out and the garden was rocking that night. I was excited for this show because how long I have been a fan of this band.

The night started off with Flea coming on the stage to introduce the original drummer of The Chili Peppers Jack Irons. Jack Irons took the stage and started to play. He was behind a drum set and started to play. He was just playing rhythms on the drums with a background of electro music and samples. It was a little weird because no one was there and the set did not make sense what so ever. I was a little surprise by this. I just thought having the original drummer just playing drums was odd. The set was random and okay.

The next act wad Trombone Shorty & Orleans Ave was up next. These guys were a Funky brunch. These guys were somewhat of a good openers for The Chili Peppers. They were a Rock band they had more of a Soul/Funk/Jazz sound. Plus these guys can play. They some sharp tunes what a mix of a horn selection and other instruments. The set was quite interesting. The crowd seemed to be interested. Overall the band played a good set.

Red Hot Chili Peppers took the stage. This was my first time I ever seen them. They have been around for thirty five years and they were ready to rock. They stated off with a sick jam session between the members. The first song they started off with was “Can’t Stop.” The song sounded great live and the garden was going off in their seats. I was surprised that they had seats  up for RHCP. People do not usually tend to mosh to the band but i figured a GA area would down there. Back to the Peppers, at the start of each song they would go into a little jam before each song which was really cool. Each jam was over a minute long and boom right into the next song. The band played fifteen songs which I was thought they could play more. They played some more new songs but hearing “Suck My Kiss was sick. They also played my favorite tune “Under The Bridge.” The Peppers did not play their famous cover “Higher Ground” but they did a cover of The Stooges “Search & Destroy.” I was mind blown when they played that song. I was rocking out to it but I was surprised no one else knew it because this a Punk Rock anthem. Besides that RHCP played a solid set. After years of listening to this band I am glad I finally saw this band. I feel that this is a great band to see live and people should see them live. It amazed me when Flea said that this band has been around for thirty five years because they showed me that night they can play. If you get a chance to see them play do it because this show was worth the wait.

Red Hot Chili Peppers Night 1 2/15/17

Leave a Reply

