Cock Sparrer, Judge, Warthog @ Warsaw 2/10/17

On February 10th, I got a chance to see Cock Sparrer again. Cock Sparrer were playing two nights at the Brooklyn Venue Warsaw. They sold out two nights at the venue. The first night which is the night I went to, had Judge and Warthog. The second night had Street Dogs and Career Suicide. I personally wanted to see Judge so that why I went to the first night. The venue for the show is interesting. The venue is a big Polish VFW Hall. It is sick that they allow shows at this venue. My only problem was that there was a barricade which I am never a fan of especially for a Punk show. The one and only time I was at this venue was when I saw Cock Sparrer, The Unseen and The Nightbirds back in 2015.

The opening band of the night was Warthog. For about a year know I have been hearing about this band. I have seen their name on flyers and they play a lot of New York City shows. Warthog are from Brooklyn, New York and I have been told they have been crushing the scene. The band started to play and they were straight forward Hardcore Punk. They reminded me of Negative Approach and other 1980’s American Hardcore bands. Throughout the set they had a little bit of a reaction from the crowd. They did a Motorhead cover which got people going off for them. The last song was the best. It started off with a heavy two step part that would make a lot of people go said to said. If more people knew their material this song would haven gotten a huge reaction. Overall Warthog were a solid opener. I would to see them play with Freedom or Criminal Instinct.

The next band up was Judge. For awhile I have been wanting to see this band. Judge are a Straight Edge Band from NYHC. Judge are from the late 1980’s  NYHC scene and are a huge influential band in Hardcore especially in the straight edge community. Before they started to play I was curious how this set will go. There was barricade up and this crowd was a mix. A straight edge opening up for a band that loves to drink. Back twenty to thirty years ago this show would have been a riot. Obviously there was more people here for Cock Sparrer but there was good portion of people here for Judge. They started to play and they got a big reaction. Judge played for a little more than a half hour. Judge got the crowd going and they sounded great. There were some people crowd surfing but I figured if this was a no barricade show the reaction would be better. Judge played everything I wanted to hear. Overall Judge played a great set. If you are reading third and you never seen Judge you are missing out. They are one of the most important straight edge bands of all time. I would love to see this band again.

Cock Sparrer took the stage. As I mention before this was my second time seeing this legendary British Oi band. I saw these guys pay two year ago at the same venue. In 2015, the band played two sold out shows at the Warsaw. I attend the second night two years go. Back in 2017, the band started to play and the crowd went off. People were crowd surfing and moshing to the band. Cock Sparrer set was mostly from their 1980’s discography. Every song the crowd was singing along. This band is fun to see live. I recommend seeing Cock Sparrer. The band has been around since 1972 and they do not seem like they will be stopping. These guys are in their early to mid sixties and they were very energetic on stage. Even the singer sounded amazing and this was great. I was so impressed about how well they played for the second time around. Overall if you like Oi this band is for you. Cock Sparrer are a classic band and worth seeing live. I actually would to see this band play a show with Dropkick Murphys. That would be an insane show.

Cock Sparrer, Judge, Warthog @ Warsaw 2/10/17

Leave a Reply

