Green Day @ Webster Hall 10/8/16

Last Saturday, I spent a lot of money to see Green Day playing an 1,000 cap venue. 4 pm on Saturday, I purchase a ticket from stub hub to see Green Day. Green Day was doing a small tour where the venues caps were either from 1,000 to 2,000 people. The day before they played Rough Trade Records in Brooklyn where the cap was 200 people. I was really excited to get a chance to see one of my all time favorite bands playing in small venue.

I got to Webster Hall right before 7 pm and I could not believe the line that was still wrapped around the block. Doors was at 6 and there was still people outside. There was an opening act but unfortunately I missed it. I found out that it was an acoustic act that sounded really Country. Besides that Webster Hall was pack out for this show.

Before the band played they had three intro songs to their set, The first one was “Bohemian Rhapsody” by Queen. The entire crowd was singing along and having a great time, The song after was “Blitzkrieg Bop” by The Ramones. During this song they have their bunny mascot come out and got the crowd more amp up. When I saw them in 2009 at Madison Square Garden it was the same concept too. After Blitzkrieg Bop they played Good, Bad, and Ugly theme song. This song Green Day came out to and everybody was cheering.

Green Day took the stage and started off with “Know Your Enemy.” With the opening note the crowd went bananas. As I mention before this was my second time seeing this band and it been awhile since I saw them back in 2009. The following songs were of of their new album which came out the day before. The set list was insane. They played a lot of the hits. Also they play some rarities. The crowd insane for most of the set. People were moshing and crowd surfing. Webster Hall had a barricade up for this show. I am not a fan of a barricade at a Punk show. Besides that every song had a AYYYYY OHHHHH part. Billie Joe Armstrong loves to perform. The entire band loves their audience. The only thing I did not like from this set was that they did not play “Welcome To Paradise” or “When I Come Around.”

Still with the set Green Day played I got to hear plenty of songs I wanted to hear. They played two encores which were both crazy. All of the new songs sounded great and Green Day themselves played great. Everything about this set was fantastic. The amount of money I spent was ridiculously but it was worth every penny. If you want to see a great live act then go see Green Day they are worth seeing live. Just recently they announced a tour that has Against Me opening and they will be in the NYC area March 15 at the Barclay center.

Green Day @ Webster Hall 10/8/16

Leave a Reply

