Binghamton Style

Last Saturday I went to a one day festival up in Vestal, New York. The festival was called Binghamton Style. This was a mix genre festival that featured some hardcore, grindcore, beatdown, and some metal bands. This was about a ten minute drive from Binghamton University. The festival took place at HCS Skate Park. I never thought in a million years I would be able to attend a show at a skate park. Plus the legendary Detroit hardcore band Cold As Life was the headliner which was also thought I never ever have a chance to see them. There was supposed to be twelve bands playing but the Long Island beatdown band Strength Through Suffering drop. Besides this there were a lot of people who came out to this. The best was seeing some older hardcore guys bringing their kids and seeing people skateboard before each set.

The opening band of the festival was Blame God. This was the first time seeing this band. They are a grindcore band from Upstate but all of the members are from Long Island I believe. The band is a three piece and they were crushing. At first there was no movement at all for this band until a member of the crowd jumped into the crowd from the skate ramp and started to mosh. For the rest of the festival I expected people to jump from the ramp to mosh on people. The rest of the set people were going really hard for them. I love the fact that people were going really hard for them and the fact they were the opening band. Their last song was a Pig Destroyer cover. This cover got a great reaction. Overall if you like grindcore check this band out.

The second band of the day was Human Overdose. Human Overdose is from the local area of Binghamton. They were the second grindcore band on this lineup. This was my first time seeing them and I heard a lot of good things about them. The band played a really good set and people were going off for them. I have not seen a lot of grindcore bands in my life but this band was really good. One thing I thought was really cool was seeing people charging up to mic and singing to the songs. It is always cool seeing people singing along to local bands. This is always a cool thing for the band to have. This band is worth your time to check out.

Up next was Before I had Wings. Before I had Wings is a heavy hardcore/beatdown band from Massachusetts/New York. This was my first time seeing them. They always play the Tri-State area a lot but I never got a chance to see them. To see them on this bill I thought was cool. I was excited to see this band. I like the style they had and their breakdowns were heavy. They had some people going off for them which was cool. They played a good set and they played a cover. The cover was Hatebreed’s “Last Breath” which got people really amped up because it is hard not to mosh to a Hatebreed song. If you like this style of hardcore they are worth checking out.

Up next was Nightfear. This is a new band Pennsylvania. I first heard of this band when the website hate5six filmed them opening up for Angel Dust in Philly back in March. Nightfear are a 1980’s thrash metal worship band that still loves hardcore. These guys are not like Power Trip or Iron Reagan. These guys are playing Slayer and Metallica riffs anf mixing them with Hardcore. They opened up with a Slayer cover which was “South of Heaven” They got a good reaction and I never thought I would see people spin kick to Slayer. Besides that they played a great set and this was probably one of my favorite sets of the night. They are a great band and they even did another Slayer cover which was “Mandatory Suicide.” Overall if you like Thrash Metal or Crossover this band is for you.

Laid 2 Rest was up next. This was my third time swing this Connecticut Hardcore (CTHC) band. From start to finish the crowd reaction was crazy. People were charging up the ramps to hit other people. No one was safe during this set. One point I was pinned up by the speakers so I would not get hit. Laid 2 Rest played a great set. I love how crazy the crowd got for them. This was probably my favorite time seeing them. They also did an Irate and Shattered Realm cover which were sick. Laid 2 Rest is currently my favorite band from CTHC and they show pride from where they come from. I love this band and I cannot wait to see them again. If you like beatdown this is a perfect band for you.

The next band up was Media Limits. Media Limits is from the local area of Binghamton, New York. Once I saw all of the band members wearing the same shirts I knew it would be crazy. The color was yellow and once they played they got a good reaction. The scene in Binghamton is cool because they represented themselves during this set. They sang along to each song and went off. The band has a fast and aggressive sound which was cool. They were the only band of the night that had that style of hardcore. Fast songs and extended two step parts. This band was pretty cool and I would check them out again.

Jesus Piece was up next. This was my third time seeing this heavy band from Philly. Jesus Piece has an interesting sound that mixes beatdown, hardcore, and metal. This band has been blowing up in the past year. This was another set that got a great reaction from the crowd. From start to finish the crowd was into it. There were a lot of people going off for them and singing along to their songs. This band never lets down and a lot of people were very into this set. Jesus Piece is a great heavy band and they are a great live band. I cannot wait to see them play at This is Hardcore Fest.

Long Island own Jukai was up next. Jukai I saw the night before playing on Long Island for their record rlease show Devoid of Hope which was crazy (Review is up on the blog). This was my nineth time seeing Juaki and this band I most excited to see out all of the bands. Jukai always plays great sets and they kick a lot of butt. They have a 90’s metalcore sound and they are really influenced by Disembodied. Last Saturday they played a great set and people went off for them. Not a lot but some did. People must have really enjoyed them because more and more started to join in after each song. Personally this was my favorite set of the night and I had a lot of fun during this set. I recommend everyone who is reading this to see this band.

Born Low was up next. This is my first time seeing this band. Born Low comes from Albany. New York. Born Low has also played the Tri-State area multiple times and I never got a chance to see them. It was cool they were on this lineup. Born Low reminds a lot of the late 00’s hardcore scene like bands like Cruel Hand and Trapped Under Ice. They played a good set and they got a good reaction. There were a lot of people going off for them which was really cool. Overall this was a good set.

Living Laser was up next. Living Laser are a HVHC aka Hudson Valley Hardcore band. This is my third time seeing them play. The first time I saw them I was not a big fan of them until I saw them again. Living Laser has sound that is very close to Leeway but they cut down on their songs. They have these rapid fast songs and all of these funky grooves. Living Laser got a great reaction. They are loved in upstate New York and a lot of people were going off. I love this band I cannot wait to see them again.

The headliner Cold As Life was up next. They started off with a bang by coming out with an entrance. The background music was sounded like a mix of Hip Hop and recordings from the television show Gangland. Cold As Life played a pretty good set. A lot people were still there and showing a lot of support for the band. Their set mixed with their hardcore punk era material with their really aggressive material from the late 90’s. When they played their heavy songs the place erupted and people went off. It was cool seeing this legendary hardcore play and I hopefully they play NYC or Long Island soon. This festival overall was a great festival that features a lot of cool bands. Every band that played this festival is worth checking out.

Cold As Life- 8.5/10

Living Laser- 9/10

Born Low- 7/10

Jukai- 10/10

Jesus Piece- 10/10

Media Limits- 7.5/10

Laid 2 Rest- 10/10

Nightfear- 9.5/10

Before I had Wings- 7.75/10

Human Overdose- 8/10

Blame God- 8/10

 

 

Binghamton Style

Leave a Reply

