Dropkick Murphys, Tiger Army, Darkbuster @ Webster Hall 3/10/15

Last Thursday I got a chance to see Dropkick Murphys on their 20th anniversary tour. They played two nights at NYC venue Webster Hall. I attended the second night with a few of my friends. This was my third time seeing this Boston Celtic Punk band and they always put on a great show. This year supporting bands were Tiger Army and Darkbuster. I was excited to see both openers because I have been listening to these bands for years and now I finally got a chance to see them.

The opening band of the night was Darkbuster. Darkbuster are from Boston, MA. They seemed to have a number of fans in the audience because people were singing along to them. Darkbuster had a pretty cool sound that mix between Punk, Skinhead aka Oi!, Hardcore and some songs sounded like Ska. Their music was mix and they reminded me of 1980’s United Kingdom Punk Scene. They were pretty descent opener and I enjoyed them a lot.

The following the band was Tiger Army. Tiger Army is a three trio that plays Rockabilly/Psychobilly. I love their 1950’s sound mix with Horror themes. This band is from Berkeley, California. For band like this they seemed a little off opening for Dropkick but I did not mind what so ever. They played a pretty solid set and they played their hearts out. I notice some people digging their music. I notice some people singing along with their tunes while others were just rocking out to them. They did covers by Eddie Cochran and Link Wray. Overall they played a great set. Out of the few Rockabilly bands I have seen in my life Tiger Army is probably one of the best.

Right before Dropkick got on they played a video about the band. It was a quick 5-7min video about the band career and also how the Major League Baseball team the Boston Red Socks won three championships. It was funny because every time they showed the Red Socks winning the crowd booed. The band got on and the place erupted. Whenever seeing the Murphys it is always a great time. Every song was great and they played a lot of old classic tunes. People were moshing and crowd surfing for them. The band just ate it up the crowd energy. The crowd is big drinking crowd but they were active. Usually a crowd that has a lot of drinking has a lack of interaction. Besides this Dropkick played probably one of the best sets I ever seen and they rock the big apple that night. What is crazy is that they covered The Car’s “Just what I needed.” I never thought in a million years I would have ever heard that song live. Dropkick Murphys is a band that everyone should see once in their lives. They are one of the best live bands in Punk Rock.

Dropkick Murphys- 10/10

Tiger Army- 8/10

Darkbuster- 7/10

Webster Hall- 9/10

 

 

 

 

Dropkick Murphys, Tiger Army, Darkbuster @ Webster Hall 3/10/15

Leave a Reply

